Device Types / Monoprice Motion Sensors

I’m new to Smartthings and Github. I bought three monoprice motion sensors and added them to my new hub 2.0. Due to some prior reading on the forums I knew I needed to add a custom device type for the monoprice sensor. I did some digging in this forum and found someone pointing a link to Github for one that brings in the motion, temp and battery. With some more digging I figured out how to copy and paste the code into a new device type. Simple enough, but it doesn’t seem to work. The motion works on all three just fine. However, the temps all come in at 171F or 178F. And then only two of them show battery status.

I’ve been trying to do searches on github to find other device types that might work but I can’t find one. Is there an easier way to find people’s custom device types? I just want one that works.

1 Like

@Eidaven, I’ve got several of these working, including just 2 more this morning. Temp and battery will eventually show up, but it’s a PITA. What I’ve done to get this to finally report was to remove the cover for a several seconds, as well as doing that and removing/replcing the battery and putting the cover back on. Eventually all of mine worked as expected.

I’ve used a device type from this community and modified it a little bit for my needs. Here’s what I’m using:

https://github.com/constjs/SmartThings-Devices/blob/master/monoprice_motion_sensor.device.groovy

2 Likes

Thanks. I’m not sure which fixed my problem, the resetting by leaving the cover off for a little bit or using the device type you posted. Either way everything is working.

Although, two batteries are reading 100% and the third one is 66% which is odd since they should all be brand new batteries.

1 Like

@Eidaven, excellent news. I felt the same way you did about these motion sensors and getting them to finally get working. I’m sure they eventually would, but I’m impatient.