GE Ceiling Fan Switch Custom Device Type - Low, Med, High buttons w/no slider!

Hi everyone! I recently got this fan switch from Home Controls and it works great, but I really did not like the slider to control the fan speed. Neither did the wife, so it wasn’t passing the WAF (wife acceptance factor) test.

http://www.homecontrols.com/GE-Z-Wave-Ceiling-Fan-Wall-Switch-JA12730

I used ST’s default dimmer switch device type to create a new custom device type that replaces the slider with 3 buttons - Low, Med, and High; AND a tile to show the current speed setting. Check it out:

If anyone has this device and would like the code to use for yourself, here it is:

(disclaimer: I’m not a coder, so please excuse any poor coding practices!)

https://github.com/constjs/SmartThings-Devices/blob/master/ge_fan_control_switch.device.groovy

24 Likes

Stupid question…

do you need a special kind of fan for this to work? I’m not sure I understand how it sends the spend control to the fan for a “drawstring” speed control.

Found a few pictures which is very interesitng

Google Picture

I might have to look at my wiring and see if they wired my fans like this. I currently have just a normal “on / off” switch installed. But this would be awesome!

Hi John… thanks for sharing the code!

If you can excuse me butting in, I have some ideas that are just humble optional suggestions…
I can delete this post immediately upon request.

1] Features

(a) May I suggest adding optional Device Preference Inputs (that the user can input using the Thing Preferences sub-tile), so that the user can configure their own custom speed values associated with Low, Med, High?
i.e.,
Add three lines of this syntax:

preferences {
    input "lowSpeed", "number", title: "Sample Input Title", description: "Define low speed value", defaultValue: 20, required: false, displayDuringSetup: true
}