FAQ: Armed/Disarmed states vs Away/Home modes confusion

Hello,

I’m brand new to SmartThings, and I’m trying to configure Smart Home Monitor to alert not just on door open/close sensors and motion sensors, but also on certain vibration sensors when it is in the Armed state. I can’t find a way to do that.

I can use Custom to make a vibration alert based on Away/Home/Night “modes”, but these appear to be totally separate from the Armed/Disarmed states. Am I missing something?

1 Like

Nope, you got it. Location.Modes are completely separate from SHM or STHM armed states. Some of the early documentation on SHM, which is still available on the support site, called the armed states “mode” even though there already existed a system feature called mode so that was just a mistake that has led to considerable confusion.

AS OF 2019, the ones associated with security are now called “security.mode” and the more general ones are now called “location.mode”

You can set both location modes and security modes in a routine in the Classic app or a scene in the new V3 app, if that helps any.

Did you need more information on what a Location.mode is?

Also, the following post is a good example of how one member uses both location.modes and SHM armed states. It might help clear up some of the confusion. He is using five routines throughout the day to change both the location.mode and the SHM armed state. :sunglasses:

Again, if you are using the 2018 or 2021 app, you would put the mode change in a scene and then control the activation of that scene with an automation.

1 Like

Those examples helped a lot. I think the piece I was missing was that I can have a Routine that ties both the SHM state and mode to a single event (for example, if everyone leaves, then we switch to Armed state and Away mode).

Thank you!

2 Likes

Thank you, that solved my issue, I was confused with SHM and ST modes.

1 Like