Personal Weather Station Recommendation

Read through several threads, mostly old, and curious what PWS recommendations you may have. Netatmo seems to be the new “shining object” and curious if it’s the way to go. I would like a rain gauge at a minimum, one that can integrate with Rachio and ideally SmartThings. Also interested in things you may not like/lessons learned from your PWS. Thanks!

I’ve been running a wireless Lacrosse station since 2010. I bought the original system from Costco for around $90 and I’ve bought a replacement anemometer (~$50 if I remember correctly) and another full system from Costco for $90 to use as spare parts. I’ve replaced the anemometer twice and the outside temp once. I currently use a Raspberry Pi to upload the data to Weather Underground and from there I use the weather data in SmartThings. It was a happy coincidence that ST uses WU.

I also got a free (paid for shipping only) BloomSky through their outreach program, but it doesn’t do rainfall measurements, other than yes, it’s raining, or no, it’s not. The picture / time lapse videos are pretty cool.

That said, the original Lacrosse system that I bought from Costco was different in that it used a USB wireless data stick to transfer data between the console and a computer, the RPi in my case. The newer systems from Costco seemed to be using another channel for data uploads, but the sensors were compatible. Costco has these systems for $100’s less than the retail price, but you need do do some research to see how useful they are for your purposes.

I’ve been uploading my weather to CWOP and according to them, my system gets a very good accuracy rating almost all the time, with the exception of dewpoint / humidity.

If I have to buy a new station, I would get a Davis Vantage Pro or Vantage Vue. They seem to be the gold standard for personal weather stations, but they are significantly more expensive and complex than what I have now.