*Need Advice* -- Just getting started

I’m new to HA and ST, of course. The closest I’d come before a week ago was programmable thermostats and installing Mr. Beams on my stairs.

I’ve been lurking in the forums for a week or so now, and I’ve noticed the community effort and willingness to help. So, I figured I would reach out to the community to try to avoid initial missteps.

So, my current setup:

• Echo Dot
  • ST hub
  • Harmony Hub (not setup yet)
  • (2) Wemo switches, (1) GE z-wave fan switch
  • (1) Wemo plug
  • (2) Lightify full spectrum, (2) Lightify white, (2) GE Link
  • (1) Iris motion sensor
  • (1) Osram gateway purchased for firmware updates (which ironically can’t complete the firmware update on itself).

I’d like to know:

1. What’re the most reliable motion sensors to add that are relatively inexpensive?

2. What are your favorite brands/manufacturers for each class of devices (sensors, switches, etc)?

3. Are there websites I should be monitoring regularly for products, deals and information? Or can I reliably use the ST community as my hub to the HA/IoT ecosystem?

4. I’m thinking about automating a gas fireplace with Switchmate, instead of going for a more complicated microswitch solution. Any thoughts from Switchmate owners?

5. If there is something you wished you knew when you started out, what would that be?

My main concern is reliability (with a healthy “cost vs performance” balance). I’ve been building out this system as a Christmas present for the wife, so I want it to be as solid as possible despite having a tight budget. That darned Echo Dot was the gateway to all of this. I bought it for her birthday last month as a cute little kitchen assistant for recipes and trivial info. Big mistake to have that thing in the house with a technophile like myself. It opened so many doors…or it will one day. :wink:

I appreciate any advice you can provide.

Cheers!