[NEEDS UPDATING] Bulbs, switches and sensors, oh my....what to buy (device class features FAQ)

So, I’m pretty new to this internet of things world. Originally bought 2 OSRAM tunable LED bulbs with the Wemo Hub and a WEMO insight switch, now I’ve “upgraded” the hub to the SmartThings hub, and looking at ditching the WEMO insight switch for the SmartThings plug, just so I have have support now and not have to wait or deal with adding custom code to the IDE.

I’m on Amazon and etc pretty much every day trying to decide what I want to play around with next, or what’s better, etc.

I’m here to see what your opinons/preferences are for

• plugs
  • bulbs
  • sensors: motion, open/close and temp

It’s a confusing world out there…Just for bulbs I’m finding LIFX, WEMO, OSRAM, GE Link, Phillips Hue, Cree.

For plugs I’m finding WEMO, SmartThings, Aeon Labs, GE…etc

It’s hard to decide which is the way to go…I’ve been pretty happy with my OSRAM lightify tunable bulbs. Not very happy with my Wemo Insight, it works…but I’ve had problems with it over heating, and it’s annoying that it’s not directly supported by ST.

As far as sensors, I’m really only interested in the three (temp, open/close, motion). Just for ST, I see there’s a temp/humidity sensor, and then there’s a temp/vibration/open/close multipurpose sensor (for cheaper than the dedicated temp sensor no less). Is one more accurate for temp? Is one recommended over the other? Are there other brands that work better? I see multiple brands for motion sensors.

This is my advice… But beware of my mediocre advice…

But two of everything.
Try them out.
Take back what you don’t like.
Use the return money to buy more of what you do like!

That’s how I do it! And when my wife asks, I just say it’s ok, I returned that other thing and got this instead. So far, no request for receipts!

8 Likes