New to ST, care to help a noob with some advice?

Hello to anyone who reads this. :grinning:

As the title implies, I am new to ST and I am just getting into the HA hobby/passion/obsession/prelude to bankruptcy.

I started looking into HA a little over a year ago as part of a garage renovation where I stripped everything down to the studs to rewire the entire 28’ x 26’ garage and thought “Hey! I should put some motion sensors in here!”. The research I did at the time led me to the Vera (no monthly service fees, customize-able, etc.), which is why I started to buy the Zwave “toys”. As time rolled on and I kept waiting for the whole UI saga to unfold, I decided I needed to revisit my research.

So… here I am.

I have read thousands of messages here and at the MiCasa forums and I have to say that both are full of extremely helpful, knowledgeable members. Very impressive and I hope to become a contributing member myself.

Okay, enough intro… get on with it already!

Here are the quasi-HA related items that I have amassed thus far:

• Amazon Echo
  • SmartThings Home Monitoring Kit
  • Iris Home Automation Comfort and Control Kit
  • 6 x GE Zwave Wireless Lighting Control Duplex Receptacle
  • 2 x Aeon Labs Zwave Smart Energy Switch
  • 2 x Utilitech White Flood Sensor
  • 6 x First Alert Battery-Operated CO and Smoke Detector (4 on-hand, 2 on b/o)
  • Amazon Fire TV (coming in Thursday)

A few things that I think I know after reading many, many messages here (and elsewhere):

1. If it is a “custom device type”, it can not be run locally (i.e. cloud access is imperative).
  2. If you have many bulbs in an area, you are better off with a controllable switch than “smart” bulbs.
  3. Enclosed fixtures are NOT a good fit for LEDs (unfortunate, since ALL but a few of my fixtures are enclosed).
  4. The ZHA 1.2 standard is your ST friend, but vendors can go off reservation… check the compatibility list!

So, my questions are: