Fortrez Z Z-Wave Water Valve Randomly Showing Incorrect State

I have has a Fortrez Z Z-Wave Water value that I have been using for several years with no problems.

Recently it has randomly starting incorrectly updating the state to Open even though the valve is still physically closed. If I then close the valve through the Smartthings app it goes to the Closed state for a random period of time at which point the state again gets incorrectly updated again.

Sometimes its minutes between occurrences and sometimes its hours.

This just started a few days ago. The device is on the new “edge” driver. It shows up as placeholder in the IDE and Z-Wave Valve in the app. It’s possible this issue started occurring when the driver was changed, but I do not really know for sure.

Is anyone else having this problem? Any ideas on what is going on here and/or how to debug it? How do I determine if its a Smartthing’s App problem, a driver problem, a firmware problem, a hardware problem, etc.?

1 Like

Hmm…nobody else has run into this issue or has any insight as to what is going on?? :hushed:

I have a WaterCop valve which uses the same driver and migrated to an Edge driver last week. Looking at the history now, I can see that it has shown alternating open / closed status at various times, supposedly cycling open each day around 3:10am and then closing around 1-6 hours later. The water certainly hasn’t been shut off for 18-23 hours each day during that time so that reporting is definitely false.