Tuya Smart Life using SmartThings Hub as a Zigbee gateway

a newbie here ! I am on a 2 years old SmartThings Hub, with devices from Samsung, Philips, Ikea, and few others. recently bought some Tuya Zigbee switch modules and scene switches for trial. I THOUGHT that I could use the SmartThings Hub as the Zigbee gateway, but apparently I cannot go through the config screen on the Smart Life and locate the SmartThings Hub.

I could SEE those devices from SmartThings app, but they are just THING, and cannot be connected.

thanks for any advice !

Welcome!

There is a partial integration between Smart Life and SmartThings, but it is one way from Smart Life to SmartThings. So first you add the devices to the Smart Life app, then you add your Smart Life account (not the individual devices) to SmartThings as a linked service, then some, but not all, of your Smart Life devices and scenes will show up in the SmartThings app. Most people seem to have the best luck bringing Smart Life scenes into SmartThings, but it’s a pretty limited integration.

TUYA-MADE ZIGBEE DEVICES

Some Tuya-made Zigbee devices can be connected directly to a SmartThings hub, but Tuya uses its own proprietary messaging structure so, as you noted, they often show up just as a “thing” and cannot be controlled. :disappointed_relieved:

Some individual community members have figured out the exact messages required for some specific models and created “custom code” which does allow those specific Tuya-made Zigbee models to be attached to a ST hub and show up in the SmartThings app and be used in routines there. You will have to check this forum for each individual model you have and see if such code exists and how to use it.