Stories from a beginner

I am a novice in technology. But I know just enough to be dangerous. Re-modeling the house and am going to try to integrate some smart home technology into the house. I am going to give it a run. I’ll try to document my story here from beginning to end. Here it goes.

2 Likes

The smart thing arrived last Tuesday 1/26/16. I plugged it in and connected it to my router. I opened the app and followed the directions. While on the app, it just cycled and cycled looking for my hub about one hour. Lights blinked blue and red. Rebooted the hub, took batteries out, and disconnected it from the router. No luck. Reloaded the app. No luck. Did both several more times. Sent an e mail to customer support. Customer support responded the next day. Sent one more e mail to advise them of my problem. Customer service said that the blue and red light means that the hub is bad. Customer service said the would send a new hub. Should get the new hub in the next several days. Customer service was helpful.

2 Likes

I just got mine set up a couple days ago. It connected very easily, so no fear when you get a working one. And good luck!

1 Like

I got the new Smart Thing…it arrived as promised. I connected it to my router, plugged it in, put the batteries in, reloaded the app, logged in, put in the code, set up the location and … got a steady green light! Finished he setup and my hub is OFFLINE. I cannot figure out why the app is saying my hub is offline and/or why it won’t work… I’m going to look on line for some answers…

Just guessing that it may be downloading the latest firmware…?

Be sure to login to the IDE from a Browser where you can possibly get more detail: