SmartThings, DSC Alarm, EnvisaLink4

I could use some help.

I have a SmartThings hub, in addition to Alexa, Harmony, Phillips Hue, Sonos, etc.
I have a DSC 1616 alarm system

I had some fancy idea that it would be neat to leverage the sensors in my alarm system for some SmartThings automation.
Specifically, the motion sensors, the door sensors, and the smoke alarm. It would be nice to get notifications when I’m traveling. Perhaps turn on some lights if an alarm is triggered, you get the idea.

So I bought an EyezOn EnvisaLink 4 without doing enough research. There is no viable chance to run Ethernet cable to the alarm panel. It wouldn’t be worth it. Is there some way to go wireless with it?
How would I then integrate it with SmartThings to get notifications working?

I do have an unused Raspberry Pi 3 (has wifi) from another project that I could use. I’m not a developer, but I am savvy enough to follow instructions.

Am I attempting a boondoggle? I’m worried that it is more trouble than it is worth and I should maybe just return the Envisalink. Then I’d buy more sensors (to overlap with the sensors in my DSC system). Plus a new smoke alarm.

Have you checked out konnected.io ?- Easy way to use your existing wired sensors. I would return the envisalink and look up @heythisisnate and his Konnected product.

It was a hugely successful kickstarter campaign. I used it to replace a Honeywell Vista 20p panel.

Good luck!

(Nate Clark) #3

Thanks for the ping @todds89.
@SackOHammers this is exactly why I built Konnected. Let me know if you have any questions.

(Graham) #4

I’m sort of in the same boat as SackoHammers. Konnected.io is cool, but I’m not willing to give up my existing alarm system just yet (for a number of reasons) … I just want access from SmartThings to the sensor states. So far I haven’t found any decent documentation for setting up an alarm server relay on something low-cost like a Pi.

(Nate Clark) #5