Smart Wall Switches for Harmony Elite/Alexa

I’m pretty new to smart devices so I’ve got plenty to learn. My smart devices to date are a Echo Dot, Nexx Garage door opener, and a Logitech Harmony Elite with Hub on the way.

I’m wanting to add some smart wall switches that can be controlled via the Harmony Elite and/or Alexa. There are so many brands and I’m not sure what works with what. Do I understand correctly that if I purchase a SmartThings Hub along with some smart switches it should all work together?

If so then what smart wall switches would you recommend that are good quality, easily installs into switch box, and doesn’t cost an arm and a leg? I’d probably just start out with a couple to begin with to control some basement on/off switches to some fluorescent ceiling lights.

In the US, There are now many different wall switches that will work with Alexa, whether you have SmartThings or not.

In general, Wi-Fi switches will be able to work directly with echo.

Switches that use Z wave, zigbee, or one of the proprietary protocols like Lutron will have to have an additional hub/Controller to work with echo. SmartThings can give you echo integration with Z wave or zigbee devices.

Like a lot of electronics, switches tend to fall into good/better/best categories, and the exact switches you will choose depend on your own personal needs and preferences, including your budget. :sunglasses:

The following FAQ discusses various features that switches might have and why you might care about one or another. The light switch discussion starts around post 40: