Schlage Lock Connect

Hello,

I am new to this. I am considering buying a Schlage lock to Smartthings. Do I need to first connect the Schlage lock using the Schlage connect or can I just connect it directly to Smartthings hub without doing so? Thanks. Yustos

Which model are you buying? Most of us Schagw users use the Camelot zwave model with touchscreen. And I think Amazin has a deal with buy one get one free… Please confirm which models though.

I use the lock manually but I have it added to ST to check the status only. I don’t open/close via ST.

haven’t decided? any recomendations Ron?

I am not an expert. Just an average user. :slight_smile: I went with the Schlage Camelot touch screen (aged bronze) with zwave. Works fine for me. I am sure others can chime in.

3 Likes

Thanks Ron. Did you need to use Schlage connect to connect it to your smart home or dis you connect it directly through smarthings hub?

I am not aware of Schage Connect for the zwave model that I have. I simply connected it as basic lock with nothing to do with ST or automation. Later I integrated with ST where it paired as a basic zwave lock. @ethayer, @garyd9 and others built some great stuff on top of that and extremely popular in the community.

great,thanks Ron, I’ll check it out :smile:

You will not need the Schlage app. You will connect the Zwave Schlage lock directly to the SmartThings hub and use the SmartThings app. Provided it is a compatible model. :sunglasses:

Installation instructions for the various Schlage models that work with SmartThings are in the official knowledgebase:

https://support.smartthings.com/hc/en-us/sections/201070760-Schlage

Same here. For the OP, be aware when comparing prices that besides the multiple finishes, this lockset is available in two different models that look outwardly identical - the BE368 and BE369. The BE368 has no built-in alarm, but is otherwise the same. Enjoy!