Routine not firing on a Schedule

scheduling
routines

Let me start out by saying, I’m no novice. I wrote LANnoucer, fer cryin’ out loud!

But I cannot figure out how to get a routine to fire on a schedule. I set “Good Morning” to fire daily at 6am, to turn on some lights. It never does. No mode restrictions, nothing else, it just doesn’t fire. Nothing in the “Recent Activity” either.

What am I missing? This seems like it really should be trivial.

Thanks

(Joshua Moore) #2

I think what you are missing is that schedules aren’t working (for the most part) with ST. Some folks have had luck using unusual times such as 5:57 instead of 6:00. You may want to give that a try.

(Matt) #3

I am thinking of using Amazon Echo. Alexa set an alarm for 6AM and have the alarm trigger the event you want to happen. That gets off the ST timer

(Rick Pittser) #4

How does the Alexa alarm trigger an ST event? That sounds very similar I thought about doing but didn’t think it was possible.

(Matt) #5

Im researching. I dont have yet and am trying to figure that out right now…

(Ren Eric) #6

Isn’t that possible through IFTTT?

I could do that. Alexa to trigger a virtual switch that RulesEngine (e.g.) watches.

But that seems ridiculous. ST already has “routines” and options for when to fire them.

(Matt) #8

yes it is ridiculous but we all know and there are tons of threads on the subject that ST has issues with any timed event.

(ts) #9

Yep, routine to arm and disarm daily has failed ever since the 'droid app update. Was working fine before the last update, but now it works one and not the next day. Heck even TTS is not working too.

Smart Lighting app works like a charm however.

(Rick Pittser) #10

Yes, didn’t think of that, but just checked and that is a trigger.

(fightingmajor) #11