Please help. Hub is installed. Cant add anything :( Schlage Lock

Got home this evening and installed my hub. I have the Schlage Camelot Deadbolt. Activated ZWave on the lock, got the green check mark and the app on my phone picked it right up. Half way through the setup I got an error but didnt see what it said. The lock is now listed for me in my home/things/ and the lock shows as locked however when I press unlock nothing happens.

So I think maybe I didnt turn on enroll properly and thats why I got an error. So I enter programming mode on the schlage and hit 0. Now it flashes a red x every time and if I try to delete the device from ST app it tell me doing so may cause me to have to exclude it from the controller first.

What am I doing wrong? I am by no means a novice when it comes to technology but this is really frustrating. I would appreciate any help I could get

On the schlage I removed the battery cover and unplugged the batteries. According to documentation the inside light should flash red if enrollment is turned on but it doesnt flash red.

Hey guys, I checked the recently tab for the device and the error was This lock failed to complete the network security key exchange. If you are unable to control it via smartthings, you must remove it from your network and add it again.

What do I do?

How far is the lock from the hub? It should be within 12 feet during pairing to ensure proper set up.

You need to remove it from the network. You should be able to delete the device from the ST app, then go into repair mode again on the lock.

Here is a post that sounds like it will fix you up.

You to bring the lock closer to the hub. The hub runs on batteries, unplug it and pair it right next to the lock. They do this for security reasons, mine wouldn’t pair and I was 5 feet from the lock , then I moved it closer and it worked .

Doesnt the hub have to be connected to the internet?