[OBSOLETE] Starting a Google Calendar SmartApp

I’ve been working on a SmartApp to connect to Google Calendar and close a Contact Sensor whenever there is an event for a particular calendar. This is the basis of what I use now to wake me up with a Sonos, which I am moving to SmartThings. What I have probably works, though I’m sure I’ve made some rookie mistakes. One large example is that, I haven’t found a good way to do inline OAuth from the smartthings to Google Calendar. I can’t get a completely static URI, so what I’ve got for now includes out-of-band auth.

With all of this, I’m pretty new to the smartthings community, however. Would anyone here find it useful? I’ve seen it mentioned in other threads here, but haven’t seen any implementations yet. Should I I just share the source for anyone willing to use it? Right now, what I have is on github.

3 Likes

There is a way to do this through IFTTT, However I would not mind taking a step out of the process and having a direct app doing the work in the ST environment. I currently use it to turn on and off my side light based on a sliding schedule. Probably better ways to do that, but what the heck it worked

Yes, I looked at the IFTTT approach, but like everything else I’ve tried to do with integrating IFTTT doing some state change in my home, it never has the accuracy I want. They claim “15 minute” accuracy for Google Calendar integration. That could be 15 extra minutes of sleep!

WOW that looks pretty good, you put a lot of thought behind this… I may of missed it in the code, but how can a user change what event is the trigger? Can you have different events trigger different virtual switches(child devices)?

1 Like

I don’t have any filter yet. but I just split this kind of thing out into it’s own calendars. It wouldn’t be hard to add, though.