Need some help or insight on a zwave repeater problem I'm having

So Im new to SmartThings. Can anyone please try to explain this to me . If Z-Wave is supposed to have a better range than Zigbee, and Z-Wave Plus has even bether than the both of them- then why is that when setting up my system I can have 4 Iris 120 smart plugs(thats a zigbee plug and a zwave repeater) to a Z-wave motion device and the Zigbee work great, all they way, yet the Zwave plus repeater can barely even pair on the 2nd plug. I’ve done the device handler thing, exclusion, deleted location and started over. Nothing seems to help with these Zwave plus repeater range. The repairs keep failing it would even fail on just 1 plug with the Zigbee and Zwave paired I’ve been doing this for over 5 days and cant get it right. Please anyone I may just have to get a zigbee motion detector and 2 zigbee door sensors cuz it’s just not working.

Thanks
Chad

First question: what is the status of the zigbee part of the Iris pocket sockets? That is do they show as “on” in the smartthings mobile app? The reason I ask is because a number of people have reported that if they turn the Iris dual protocol pocket socket off, the device will continue to repeat for Zigbee but will no longer repeat for Z wave. It appears that in that particular device, the Z wave radio is turned off when the current load is turned off while the zigbee radio stays on. That is an unfortunate design flaw if true, but could explain what you were seeing. If you want to use the iris smart plug as a zwave repeater, you have to leave the zigbee portion of it always on.

The second question is when did you last run a Z wave repair and did you get any error messages from it? Again, make sure that the status of all the iris switches is on before you run this utility. It will update the motion sensor neighbor tables so that it knows that it is actually near the smart plug.