LED lighting control

Hi folks - I’m a rank noob at the home automation game so go easy on me. I’m coming to the end of a total remodel on my house and have installed recessed Utilitech LEDs throughout the house controlled by Lutron C-L Maestro dimmers with no neutrals (I rewired the house and code dictated that I bundle all neutrals in the switch boxes). I haven’t bought the ST hub yet because I want to know I can do what I want to do with it before I jump in.

My goal is to be able to control certain LED lighting circuits through the ST hub, which I can then control through an app like iRule or Roomy. I’ve spend the past few days trying to understand if I can do this. Here’s where I got to:

• In order to communicate with the ST hub switches require a trickle of power which can cause LEDs to turn on slightly/flicker continually because there is often not enough load in the LED circuit. This problem is exacerbated with no neutrals.
  • Current best solution would be to use a Z-Wave switch and add a resistor to eat up enough power so the LEDs don’t come on when they should be off. This seems rather ridiculous to me since I’ve gone to great lengths to increase the efficiency of my house.
  • I am yet to see a switch that is as sleek and well designed as my Lutron Masetro dimmers - the GE/Jasco ones look like cheap janky plastic barely better than standard decorator switches which I’ve replaced, the WeMo seems fraught with problems and the MS-owned Insteon look good but probably won’t be supported by Samsung-owned ST. Oh, and the Ube switch looks OK but they’ve been saying they’re releasing it for years so I’m not holding my breath.
  • Also, Lutron do a very nice line of switches in the Radio Ra2 line, but I think I would need to buy their hub and then I can’t do anything with it unless I have a Lutron-approved installer do it for me, which isn’t happening.