iOS client (in)stability

I’m a newbie to ST and the iOS app (v.1.6.68). I find the app to be quite unstable while I’m editing scenes, automations, etc – several crashes per day.

Are other people seeing this as well?

1 Like

Over the past few days I’ve had it crash three times while editing automations and scenes.

I generally, open the app, completely close it (swipe up), and then I open it again. For some reason, the first time I open it, there’s a much greater chance of a crash than the second time. Not sure what the difference is.

If you have a quick read on the forum you will see 100s of posts reporting app issues, you are not alone with your problems

Some people have had success stabilising the app by uninstalling and completely re installing, this may not fix your issues but has helped others, especially on iO/S

ST is currently an unstable platform, it is going through extensive changes and has been for 3 or 4 years, do not expect things to get better soon

Welcome to Samsung Smartthings

1 Like

I’m also seeing frequent disconnects from the Samsung servers. Is that normal or typical?

I was led to believe by “experts” that going the SmartThings route was better than going the Hubitat route.

Was I / they wrong?

This is my issue today… I keep getting signed out on the app and takes several attempts to sign back in… argh!

2 Likes

Are room and device orders messed-up still after each log out? It’s been a couple of weeks since I was logged off the app.

Yes… for sorting with rooms and devices but favorites page is always fine except for when STHM fails to load every now and again. I have given up on sorting at this point.

Oh great… I signed out to test sorting and now I can’t sign back in

I just wanted to check out signing out manually vs the system throwing you out.

Update: i needed to switch to chrome to login. Appear safari and samsung login on ios15 beta don’t work.

To update on sorting… when I sign out… the room/devices sorting are not saved.