Hub v2 Unboxing and Install

I just receive my smartthings hub v2 yesterday. I’m brand new to ST, so this is my first experience with the product.

Unboxing, setup, and initial install of the iOS app were very smooth.

However, adding devices has not gone well.

I started trying to pair some GE 12722 switches that I’d already installed and are working fina manually (new switches that have not been connected to anything ZWave before). Spent about 3 hours trying. No go. Nearest switch is 4 feet from hub. I’ve tried the general “Connect New Device” as well as the options for GE and Jasco under both the marketplace and the “Connect New Device” from the upper right menu. I’ve turned the hub on and off, i’ve reset the circuit breakers. I’ve tried toggling the switches. Nothing.

I was able to pair with my Sonos (non Zwave, uses WiFI to connect).

So next, I tried pairing to a Smartthings motion sensor, just to see if it might be having trouble with the GE stuff. However, that device won’t pair either.

Not sure how else to troubleshoot. Can’t even tell if Zwave is even on. I’ve tried the “repair zwave network”, but that hasn’t done anything. I’ve tried the General Exclusion, but not sure how that is supposed to work

Feeling a little lost.

Not the experience I was expecting or hoping for so far. Is getting started supposed to be this difficult? I’ve looked here for troubleshooting help and see to have already done everything that has been discussed.

Bad hub?

Even if you haven’t connected the switches to anything, it can’t hurt to do a Z-wave exclude first, in case they were paired by someone who returned it, in the factory, etc. If that doesn’t work, I would definitely recommend contacting support@smartthings.com.

1 Like

Once zwave devices are paired to a hub they stay paired unless you explicitly unpair them.
Force a unpair from the old hub with the new hub run a general device exclude.