Aeon Labs LED Bulb (ZW098-A52) Device Type

Hi everyone,

My Aeon Labs LED bulb just arrived, and I’m starting the process of building out a device type for it. I’m relatively new to the device type work, but there seems to be very little documentation on attributes or capabilities of the bulb. Does anyone have a good source for the basics on controlling z-wave colored LEDs?

Thanks,
Jimmy

Did it pair with Smartthings? If , so what did it pair as? I interested as well as I have one on the way? Thanks

It paired as a secure dimmer, but I can’t even control on/off with that device type. I’m currently thinking I’ll look at the other Aeon device types to see how they’re switching… The lack of documentation on implementing color channels makes it quite hard.

Is this the RGB light that you speak of?

Assuming so. Here it is on Amazon.

Check out @wackware Fibaro RGBW device type which is a Z-Wave:

Thanks Beckwith!

I’ve been messing with the bulb pretty heavily the last few days and I’m not even getting on/off functionality yet. I’m gonna hold off until the promised firmware update is released.

Thanks,
Jimmy

I can’t get mine paired.

It should definitely pair. Try excluding it and re-adding it closer to the hub.

I was able to get mine paired in the closest socket to my hub after exclusion.

When you exclude, power cycle the bulb quickly four or five times. That kicks it into pairing/exclusion mode. If it’s like mine it will work after exclusion and you can move it farther away. It turns white when it’s paired.

Tyler, is there any chance of direct device type support like the other Aeon products? I don’t mind working on it; I’m just curious.

Yeah, it seems like it partially pairs because I can exclude it. I have it within a foot of the hub.

Yes, there’s absolutely a chance. In fact, we have the beginnings of a working device type.

2 Likes

@Tyler