Adt smartthings devices not pairing

I have the ADT ST hub and have about 15 door/window sensors, 1 smoke detector, and one motion detector paired and working great. Also have a couple compatible light bulbs paired.

Now, I bought many more smoke detectors, a carbon monoxide detector and more door/window sensors. Each time I try and pair them through the app, it takes the hub to “system inactive” statusand the device never pairs. I have tried multiple smoke detectors (same model as one already paired), both scanning Q-code and manually entering, used two iphones to try and pair, uninstalled and re-installed app, used both classic and new ST app, reset wifi, used 2G and 5G, tried carbon monoxide detector (new), and NOTHING pairs anymore. I am not a tech novice but there has to be something I am forgetting or a bug in the app. After I close the app (after pairing cycle either times out or I physically close the app, the hub will return to normal status where it can be armed and monitors previously installed devices - including a smoke detector that is the same model I am trying to pair now. I cannot remember if when pairing successfully before if the hub went to this “system inactive” status or not. That seems odd that it would do that when the app is open and actively searching for a device to pair with, so I don’t know if that is the issue or something else.

I should also mention that the phones (2 different ones tried), the new device, and hub are all within 5 feet of the router and each other - all sitting at the same desk I am sitting at so it is not a distance issue. I even tried literally having the smoke detector on top of the phone on top of the hub and same result.