Why is this system so broke

Why is this system so broke. I came home tonight at 11:14pm and all my Christmas lights were on. They are set to turn off at 11:00pm. I have been using Smartthings for about 4 months and I read over and over about all the issues people are having. I am having the same issues. I want a light bulb to turn on or off as scheduled. It fails over and over. This is not rocket silence, it’s turning light bulbs on and off a few times a day…

2 Likes

It’s maddening to say the least but, they say they are working on it. Sadly, every other platform has the same complaints. This platform is the lesser of evils in my opinion, or I would have bailed already.

3 Likes

Some platforms have the same complaints. Some platforms have different complaints.

If all you need is for lights to go on and off on a schedule, you can use a Leviton light controller or Staples connect or Lutron and get a solid reliable lights management system. (Or Phillips hue bridge for indoor lights.)

It all comes down to your specific needs as far as which system will be the best match for you,

2 Likes

Wait…did you say Christmas lights? It’s not even Thanksgiving yet. :wink:

5 Likes

Tonight 3 out of 10 lights turned off according to the “Smart Lighting” Smart App. Everyday things are completely random. What is the best way to debug this?

I have one virtual switch to turn on the lights on and off. It works every time, all the lights come on and off when I hit the icon. The timer function in “Smart Lighting” turns them all on ever time but fails to turn them all off. If I look at ‘Recently’ the lights never received the command.

I never know day to day if it is a local issue or another day when SmartThings is trying to fix their broken cloud. Tomorrow I will post many pics of my logs and setup.

1 Like

Last night they all turned off as scheduled. It is a completly random when this system will work or fail. Here is the log. Nothing changed from day to day.