Where's the web interface?

Hi,

I’m new to SmartThings.

Having to do the initial setup on a phone is pretty stupid, but hopefully that is the last time I need to use it. It is such a slow, brain dead way of setting things up.

Where do I find the web interface for connecting new devices, setting them up, rules, scenes etc.?

Thanks,

Dave

Sadly, there isn’t one. ST is designed as a mobile app.

With that being said, Actiontiles is web based and can do things for ST. It’s made by community developers.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply tpip, but I am horrified I can’t set things up from my computer. Doing anything on a touch screen device / app is so slow compare with using a computer with a mouse and keyboard.

Looks like my foray into SmartThings is gong to be very brief.

How bizarre…

Thanks,

Dave

That’s the reason ActionTiles was created. There are things that were made by the community developers here that ST dropped the ball on. The developers have been done great work with all the codes etc.

2 Likes

ActionTiles is very popular, and is a dashboard used for control of devices that you have already added to your account. It’s not used for setting up rules or scenes.

In addition to the official features available through the mobile app, there is a free community-created rules engine, very sophisticated, which does have a web interface and is essentially a scripting language for SmartThings. It is very popular with community members who have a good technical background, so I don’t know if that would be of interest to you or not.

2 Likes

Give it a chance. It’s not so bad after the learning curve. There is an api you can check out if you haven’t yet.

https://graph.api.smartthings.com

2 Likes

better choice is to use https://account.smartthings.com/

4 Likes

Yeah, maybe I was a bit grumpy about it…

Having just wasted 10 minutes trying to register on a phone, when it could have taken 1 minute on a computer, had pissed me off.