Web Interface Or PC App?

I am new to ST and one thing I am interested in is a web interface. Is this possible? While I appreciate the mobile application and also the IFTTT integration, I need a web interface or a PC application so I can have my computer control ST via my home automation. (Granted I could do this myself but that is no fun, I would rather have my automation do it for me)

Going to have to write it yourself. I am working on the same thing. I have a Windows application at the core of my Home Automation System. It has many special features that I wrote so I am looking control SmartThings from it. You’ll have to write a SmartApp to act as the endpoint from your automation system. So far in some basic tests I’ve been able to do this without an issue.

I wonder why the company hasn’t released a simple web interface themselves. They could bill it as “as-is,” “non-supported,” etc., if they were worried about liability and support issues.

Why have they not?

I cannot speak for SmartThings of course, but my understanding is that they have intentionally set out to create “mobile-only” user experience, which makes sense considering that PC usage is on steady decline and mobile usage is on the rise.

I can see where that would make sense. I see the two converging, but that may be a while off.

I guess I can only hope that those endeavoring to create such an interface will share it, though I will understand if they do not. :slight_smile: