Waterproof contact sensor or ideas for mailbox?

Looking to put a sensor in the mailbox but it is outside the weather.
Any ideas for waterproofing a contact sensor?

Or recommend any sensors that already waterproof?

Sensative strips might be worth looking at.
I have 2 on different outside doors.

1 Like

The Sensitive Strips are meant to be weatherproof, I’ve been testing one for the past few weeks and they seem to work really well. They work with a built in device handler too and are on the SmartThings list of compatible products.

Edit: @bobbles beat me to it

1 Like

Mine has been in my mailbox, mounted on the door for prob 2 years. Iris open/close. Never an issue with weather. Usually the inside of the mailbox is dry. Otherwise isn’t your mail getting wet?

4 Likes

I have been using 3 SmartThings contact sensors outdoors for almost two years with no issues. I simply put silicone around all sides/openings.

Two are under overhangs and will not get direct rain/sunlight. One is fully exposed to rain/elements.

I think in your use case, inside a mailbox, any contact sensor will be just fine :wink: Put some silicone around all openings for extra precaution if you like.

Something to keep in mind - the sensor case may not be exposed to rain, etc., but fluctuating temperatures can cause the batteries to fail faster and/or condensation to build up on the circuit board (for non outdoor rated sensors).

1 Like

I’ve used the ST multi sensor for my mailbox which is a good 100 feet outside away from my hub and it’s worked very well for me. Battery life has been great also.

You get 100’ with the multipurpose sensor? I can’t seem to get my sensor in my mailbox to maintain a connection with my hub which is only about 50 ft away. It sends open/close notifications for a short period of time, but later that day it’s no longer reporting. I wish there was a cheap repeater that I could put outside. Outlets are a little expensive given that they have no exterior use for me.