Vacation Mode / Randomize Lights?

I am new to Smartthings, but am struggling to how to randomize lights during a specific time period when i leave the house. I am using Leviton lights and Leviton app has a home and away toggle. Ideally, it would be great to have that switch toggle back and forth based on my location with smartthings, but this is not an option. How to i randomize certain lights when i’m gone. Any help would be appreciated.

Hi @mike5256 ,
I’m adapting a smartapp to run one or more selected lights on-off randomly.
It is executed manually, programmed or from an automation that triggers it when the desired conditions are met, location mode, presence, in a specified period of time … and stops when other conditions are met with another automation or shutdown time delay from the automation itself.
It’s almost done, but I still have to debug it and test a little more.
In a few days I will tell you something

1 Like

Do you have an Alexa device? Guard will randomly turn on and off lights when you’re away.

2 Likes

I"m sorry, as I am still a little new to this. What exactly is guard? Do i install with Alexa? Or with smartthings? or both. sorry…really still new at this

Still new at this, but how does this get incorporated into Smartthings? I thought they stopped all non approved add ons?

If you live in the United States, it’s a built-in feature with Alexa. There’s a free tier and then paid tiers if you want more features. It doesn’t have anything to do with smartthings, it will work with any lights which are controlled by Alexa. It figures out your normal usage patterns and then re-produces those with some randomness thrown in.

Here’s a good how to article. For further questions, contact Alexa support.

Not yet available in all countries.

You can still write your own custom code for yourself, and even share it with other people. There’s just no longer a “marketplace“ section in the app.