Sunricher zg2833k8-eu05 Dimmer Switch?

Is there any news about this 8 buttom dimmer switch / Wall remote? I doesn´t work with AdamV´s device handler.

Aren’t Adam’s DTHs for the zwave versions? The model you listed is Zigbee, so it won’t work with a Z wave DTH.

The folks over at Hubitat have that device working, but their Zigbee implementation is a little different than smartthings’, so I’m not sure that will help. :thinking:

Ok that explains why i dont get any Response from the device. Is it possible to modify a similar Part? Sorry I’m New with smartthings

1 Like

Long story short: the smartthings platform introduces some issues that you don’t find in other certified zwave and Zigbee controllers. And then the cloud architecture adds some issues on top of that.

In smartthings, every device has a “DTH“ (device type Handler), which is essentially like a printer driver. It takes the messages that the platform wants to send to the device and converts them to the exact format that the device is expecting. And the same thing coming back the other way.

Smartthings provides a bunch of “stock“ DTHs, including some lowest common denominator generic ones, and those work quite well for simple devices, like an on/off switch.

However, as soon as you start getting into advanced features or even just multi Button devices, the stock DTHs may not work. So then you have to get into “custom code“ which just means somebody wrote something for it other than what is provided by smartthings. This might be the manufacturer, another community member, someone who sells access to their code, or you yourself.

Up until 2020, the process for creating and using custom code was pretty simple, because smartthings let any customer upload custom code to the smartthings cloud and run it from there. All for free.

However, this did lead to some unreliability because occasionally runaway code would start to eat up all the common resources. :scream: