Smartthings Buttons = Very bad first impression of Smartthings

Hi everyone,

I’m very new to Smartthings and I just recently decided to pull the trigger and get the V3 Hub, some Smartthings bulbs and some Smarttings buttons. I got 6 buttons to begin with.

First things I did was setup the hub and light bulbs. All went really well and I have no complaints. Then it was time to unbox and setup the buttons. 1st button, follow the instructions to pair it and no go. I don’t get the expected lights sequence (red, green, red, green, red, green). I think it just flashed red a bunch of times and then that’s it. I ended up having to go online and find the instructions on how to reset the buttons and I still couldn’t get it to pair with the hub. Not a good start but I could have made a mistake during the setup since this is indeed my first time with these things. So I unbox the next one… Same thing. not the expected pairing behavior, I have to reset and I still can’t pair to my hub. Unbox the 3rd one… Same thing. Unbox the 4th. It works… everything happened as expected. Unbox the 5th… no go. then the 6th, It works.

Anyhow, I manage to get a couple more to pair within the next couple of days, but it’s very unstable and I keep losing connection and it’s very unreliable. ( kinda hard to convince my wife that this is going to be a great system when she was already skeptical to begin with) Anyhow, I need more buttons so I bought 4 more. 2 buttons out of the next 4 are DOA again.

Am I doing something wrong? This was getting really surreal. I’ve never had such a hard time with what seems to be a very reputable tech company. Oh and I have 20+ years as an IT technician in case anyone is wondering if I’m just not technically savvy.