Samsung Z-wave locks

Hi all,

I tried to look for an app or any information on the forum regarding the integration with Samsung SHS-P718 or 728 locks but could not find any.

Apparently Homey does have an integration with those locks but SmartThings does not. How is this possible? Has anyone got any success integrating them?

Thanks in advance!

I don’t think those models are z-wave. here’s the z-wave models

So then how are Homey connecting to them?

I am pretty new to the smartthings world. Here is how Homey have done it. Do you think it would be possible to connect to smartthings in the same way?

They are different model numbers

They’ll work if they have the right Z wave module inside them. The EU and the US use different frequencies for their Z wave radios in order to avoid interference with local first responder communications. So if you have a European frequency lock it could talk to an EU Homey hub, but not a US smartthings hub.

If both the lock and the hub are using the same Z wave frequency, it should work and there are some community members who have it.

The Z wave module is optional, so if you got a lock that doesn’t have one, you would need to buy that separately. And as @Automated_House Mentioned, the model number matters.

See the following thread. Although the topic title discusses a different model, the thread itself discusses the model that you mentioned.

Samsung SHS H505 Door lock

Many people end up paying an additional fee to get access to @rboy ‘s code library (it is a one time fee that gives you access to everything in that library, including the lock code) and it also supports those locks. But again you have to have the right RF module in the lock itself. Rboy’s code generally supports all the features of a device, including advanced features which are not supported by the basic smartthings integration. :sunglasses:

@JDRoberts thank you very much for the detailed explanation. It is much appreciated.