Roku "my home" channel?

What if we could meld SmartTiles and Roku - so you could see/control things using your tv remote?

I’ve poked around a bit at the Roku SDK, it looks somewhat icky but not impossible. Anyone interested in poking around this area?

4 Likes

I would love this idea! That said, I’m not a developer, but I’d be happy to help as a beta tester.

I haven’t seen anyone make a web browser in roku. I’m sure if it were possible someone would have by now. I think roku is getting closer to something like that though.

@schettj I actually started building this probably close to a year ago but other things came up. I didn’t get very far but I will dig back and see what code i still have.

@keithcroshaw So actually there is a mythical web browser for the roku called oversight. If you look hard you can find it in a few places on the web. You have to put your unit in developer mode to get it installed. Its what i was basing my code on. I will see what i can track down…

2 Likes

Seems like too much work for me. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

I’ll stick to my iPad.

Nice. I was thinking more along the lines of how the “plex” channel works - you get very nice icons for series and shows, with descriptive text - seems like you could generate a Roku interface for the Dashboard so you can navigate by capability, or “recent activity” or any number of interesting things… and drill down to choosing phrases, modes, on/off control, etc…

It would be non-trivial, but probably cool.

1 Like

hi Schttj

I built a Roku manager and monitor for SmartThings my daughter this weekend, are you still interested in this if so I can share the code.

5 Likes

Hi guys

I have uploaded the code for use.

1 Like