Recording cctv to wd hard drive

Hi, I’m new to ST, just got my hub at the weekend. I have seen that Samsung will be charging to monitor your home ie cameras etc, is there not a camera that can record to a cloud account or my hard drive when a sensor has been triggered for free?

1 Like

Almost all cameras have this feature. I currently have 8 IP cameras (a mix of Dahua and Q-See [rebranded Dahua’s]) that are recording 24/7 to my Synology NAS via FTP. I also have 3 Foscams that record on motion alarms to my Synology NAS via FTP.

There is, of course, the up front cost of the equipment but no ongoing fees.

1 Like

+1 for that suggestion.

There are some caveats though, but that’s par for the course… :smile:

You can “roll your own” setup with a PC and use that to record the video (plenty of free and freemium software out there that does that) and set the destination path to a folder that you synchronize with the cloud. I used to do this with Google Drive / OneDrive but it had its issues… sync was slow, the need for the PC to be constantly on, etc. Not deal-breakers, but annoyances.

You can use a NAS like the Synology ones mentioned (I have one myself) but be aware that they have a per-camera licensing fee. You get 2 free cameras that you can connect but after that you have to buy a license for each camera, which can get pricey at the tune of $30-50 per device.

You should be able to find other options out there that allow you to record / sync to the WD drive / cloud without too much of a hassle or a fee though.

I don’t use the Synology camera software and just have the cameras record straight to the NAS via FTP (and thus avoid the outrageous licensing fees).

2 Likes

Highway Robbery man… :smile:

I use Blue Iris for local recording. It’s a one time fee for the software and no camera limits. I have it record on motion trigger to my usb flash drive.

1 Like