Random events

Has anyone had issues with random things occurring with the new scheduler? I noticed the other night that my bedroom lamp was on and wife claimed it wasn’t her. Then tonight, I watched my living room turn off and bedroom turn on. I have nothing scheduled for this time and certainly nothing that turns off the living room and on the bedroom… Activity log reveals nothing (except that the actions occurred).

I am wondering if these are events that got delayed and then ‘dislodged’

I don’t think this is directly related, but looks like one of my scheduled routines is firing twice each night…

Unfortunately you are not alone. Look near the end of the following:

1 Like

No. :alien:

1 Like

I am getting at the point where it simply doesn’t make sense. I am a professional coder myself and while I don’t have probably quite the scale of smartthings, I support thousands of users. You design this stuff for horizontal scaling. Home automation is classic publish - subscribe messaging pattern. Each user is separate - none of my stuff talks to any of yours, so it should be easy to slice users up across independent servers.

It seems somebody architected them into a horrible corner that just can’t be bandaided out from.

3 Likes

I can’t argue with that, although they have given us some technical explanations about database flooding that could explain some things.

In the thread that I linked to I posted two examples that I myself have been experiencing in the last week or so. Both just use standard ST features, no custom code.

The first one just turns a night light on every night and then off-again in the morning. This is a single Z wave device. Sometimes it runs twice a day just like it should. Sometimes it runs just in the morning. Sometimes it runs just at night. And that’s all in one week. :disappointed_relieved: