Presence Detectors / Iphone as presence detectors

HI,

I am extremely new to Smartthings, but I am these support pages really useful.

One question that I have outstanding is the operations of presence detectors or namely Iphones

I have my wife, both children and my own Iphone’s set as presence devices and all seems to work well with present or not etc.

The question is, should the iphone entering the presence area disarm the system so that we can enter the house without triggering the alarm?

Its a difficult one to simulate but would be interested in the more expert advise before I kick everyone out of range to test.

Many thanks

Toby

You can definitely set up your iPhone as a presence sensor, and it would basically show up on ST as “you”

You can then “invite” other people to register as part of your home, and each phone would then become an additional presence sensor / person.

You can at that point create logic around people arriving / departing, whether that’s a particular person or everyone (something like “do this when the house is empty” or “do that when person x arrives”).

With that said… using the native presence detection is notoriously buggy for some users, so your mileage may definitely vary.

1 Like

Excellent thank you Viguera

I have the routines set for coming and going etc, but have not tested if someone arrives in goodnight routine or away state with the alarm set?

Would this deactivate the alarmed state?

I basically gave up on using my phone w/ smartthings as a presence detector. It’s way too flakey. Instead, i used Life360, while it’s the same thing, it seems to work much better and more accurate than creating a device, and this basically avoid the need to give people access to your “home” since it doesn’t allow for limited access account.

1 Like

So basically Life360 uses the location sensor on the iphone in a similar fashion but is more reliable?

OR does this use a different locations service thus the reliability?