Open/Close Sensor Battery Life

I purchased the fallowing device:

which says it’s from SmartThings. And did so based on the fact that even though it uses an odd battery, it’s rated to last 17k hours instead of 2k like the alternative open/close sensor from SmartThings.

But its only been on for a week and it’s already at 77% (checked yesterday and it was 88%, so it’s lost more then 10% of it’s battery life in a single day!)

So can anyone shed some light on this? I’m pretty new to using SmartThings, so I don’t know exactly how everything works. This is the device furthest from my router (and SmartThings Hub) do the “things” work like cell phones where if it has to work harder to get a signal it uses more battery power? If so I could set up another wireless access point by using a bridge and an old router set into AP mode. If not… has anyone else had an issue with this model?

1 Like

I have two of these currently, they are within 20 feet of the hub and I have yet to need to replace the battery in them for over a year. I have noticed that it will drop to a certain percentage and stay there for some time. Not sure if the circuit they use to read the battery status is accurate. Right now after 1 year it says that it is at 63 percent.

Did you by any chance notice that it dropped quickly at first? so far it seems 10% a day. I’m hoping it stops but…

Yes indeed it did. But please realize your milage may vary, based on use and distance to the hub

Hey @mldentlinger,

This is definitely out of character for these sensors. I have a few and they are both hovering at 70% after a year. I’d drop a line past support (support@smartthings.com) and we can help you troubleshoot what they issue might be. I am thinking it might be a signal issue like you already mentioned.