Non-tech budget set up for new home (Singapore)

Hi All!

Greetings from Singapore! I’ll be getting my new home in a few months time and happened to come across SmartThings home automation which I really find interesting and would like to integrate into my new house.

The thing is that I don’t have any technical nor programming skills which I think will be essential in setting up a home automation? I have sourced for local contractors to set up a simple automation and they are quoting me about $1500USD for the set-up. Would like to ask if this is considered a fair amount?

My set-up is fairly simple:

1. 2-3 motion sensors
  2. 10-15 sets of power outlets (including light switches)
  3. 1 temperature sensor
  4. 1 smart thing hub

My concern here is that the products I purchase from Amazon.uk will not be compatible and I may end up incurring more money than allowing an expert do it for me. Total newbie here but willing to learn! Hope you guys can share your views :slight_smile:

Many thanks!

Welcome! :sunglasses: ( I’ve moved this to projects so you can get individualized responses based on your own needs and requirements.)

Singapore is complicated, because technically the region has its own Z wave frequency, but in practice many people do use the UK frequency instead (which happens to be the same as the Chinese regional frequency).

http://products.z-wavealliance.org

You have to match the frequency exactly so if you get the UK frequency hub you will have to get UK zwave frequency devices.

And as it happens, there are no UK frequency Z wave power outlets. Long complicated reasons for that, but they just don’t exist.

There are, however, plug in modules, which in this forum we usually call “pocket sockets” just to distinguish them from the ones that are wired into the wall. I’m not familiar with the outlet design used in Singapore, but there’s probably a plug in module version that will work. So if those are acceptable to you then that’s a possibility.