New App geofencing unreliable

Hi everyone. I’m new to Smartthings and am currently using the new app. I’m finding the app geofencing to be incredibly sub-par and hoping there’s something else I can do to make it check more often.

As of right now I have my battery saver disabled and turned off battery optimization for the Smartthings app. My location settings are maximum wifi+data accuracy.

My issue is that I’m wanting to run simple automations when I arrive home. I’ve tested this over the past several days and 9/10 times I’ll be inside my house already before Smartthings realizes I’ve entered my geofenced area. This is so bad that I’ve extended the radius of my home location to 1600 meters and still had this happen. 1600 meters is simply not feasible area because my entire town will be considered Home and interfere with future automations.

I occasionally see a notification from Smartthings saying getting location info but I’m starting to think that the app isn’t checking location often enough for this to be reliable for me even remotely. I do not think this is an issue with my device location/battery settings as I’ve read several articles to make sure the app runs in the background. I’ve also had much better luck with other geofencing applications

If there’s any insight as to how I can make this even remotely reliable please assist.

EDIT: I’m running an android Q device

There are many other experiencing issues with presence…

I had the same problem, i switched to life 360 and it fires perfectly.

I tried life360 and it works scary well. Immediately after I enter my geofenced area my automations happen. I hate having to have a 3rd party app running in the background and would much rather just use Smartthings but I suppose I have no choice.