My GE link bulbs go CRAZY

Hello everyone. I am pretty new to smartthings and unfortunately I am not very impressed so far. I had x-10 devices for the last 10 years and it worked ok. I have the newest V2 Smartthings hub and several GE link bulbs connected to it, for example 2 in daughter’s bedroom (same overhead fixture) 2 in sons room, 2 in my room and 2 in the living room. From time to time when we turn them on they flash on/off rapidly over and over again for about 1-2 minutes. You can even watch the app on the phone turning them on/off. What in the world could be going on? I have searched and do not see anyone having a problem like this. Do I need to forget the bulbs and do switches? I have noticed where I only have one bulb installed, utility room, hall way and reading light this does not seem to happen. Any idea’s

Thank you
Brian

I’m sure that was frustrating! The GE Link bulbs are not on the official “works with SmartThings” compatibility list for a reason–they have some firmware issues which can cause various issues. I originally had a couple, they kept dropping off the network for no reason, I ultimately replaced them with $15 Hue White which have worked very well.

So it could be the network, but it could also be that particular brand of bulb.

1 Like

Brian,

I am in the same boat as you, Although I only have 4 GE bulbs. I bought a Wink hub and 2 bulbs to test out. In my excitement I only tested them for a couple of days and promptly went to get 2 more because in my living room I have 4 can lights. Well they kept getting bumped off the zigbee network. I would delete them and then re-add them. They work for a couple days to weeks and then die again. I finally got fed up and purchased Lutron Caseta switches and then turn the bulbs into dumb bulbs. That worked like a charm.