Laundry Monitor w/ST Multi-Sensor

I’m new to the ST platform, and after successful installation of my homes security system, I learned just how much ST can really do. Like MONITORING the LAUNDRY. Or, is this a joke? Because after using an Extra Multi-Sensor from ST, I mounted it on our Washing Machine. I thought I’d followed the instructions on how to set everything up? But I must be doing something wrong?
I’ve asked it to notify me by flashing light, Philips lights which are in the ST App.
Note: I didn’t use both pieces of the sensor, thinking that the smaller part wasn’t needed, since I’m not using it for a door or window sensor. It’s being used for vibration, movement sensitivity. So, it does show up as Contacts OPEN all of the time.
Regarding settings: Fill setting is 8 and Run Time is set to 45.
Are these where I’m going wrong?
Does anyone know why I’m not getting any readings at all?
What’s the secret? Do I have to turn it on each time, click on my heals, flap my arms and kick the dog?
Help please, and be explicit with your description, I’m such a dummy.

Thank you way in advance.

You need to play around with the settings to get it work. The refill time is important. This is my setup.

1 Like

A lot of people ended up not using these because it senses the vibration of the washer/dryer and lets you know when Vibration stops. As you could guess it doesn’t work always because of this. A work around is to use a aeon energy monitor to give you current power usage and have it let you know when power drops below a threshold. Imma do this for my dryer and get an iris smart plug to monitor my washer because it is a normal plug.

I’ll second that. I scrapped the multi and just used a metering socket and a basic core piston:

1 Like

FYI, my ST multi purpose sensors (with CR2032) are too sensitive to rely on for laundry monitoring. They detect imperceptible activity at any time.

Power monitoring has been reliable.