Inconsistent operation of SmartThings

I’ve been using smarthings for a few months now, and am overall mostly satisfied. I’ve got quite a few devices, several GE/Jasco switches, Aeon Labs multisensors, ST Multisensors, ST Motion, etc.

Most of the time things work as they should, but there are many times when they don’t. For instance the ST Motion - I have it set in the living room and it turns on a ST outlet (with lamp) when motion is detected at night…sometimes it just doesn’t come on. Sometimes the Aeon multisensors sense motion upstairs, and the upstairs lights (with the GE switches) do not come on. Sometimes the ST or Schlage door/window sensors do not turn on their corresponding lights. Several times the Open/Close operation of either the ST Multi or the Schlage does not report status correctly. Occasionally an ST app will send a command to a switch to turn on, and then…nothing. No Off command (even though it’s in the app). Then the next day it’s working fine.

Like I said, most of the time everything works, but the issues happen often enough to be quite annoying. What really concerns me though, is if I were to install one of the z-wave locks (Schlage, Kwikset, etc)…what happens when those don’t operate 100% correctly? Will it leave my house unlocked? Not lock when it’s supposed to? Keep someone locked out when I want to let them in? I can see this being quite dangerous, relying on ST to secure my house.

Does anyone else have the same issues or concerns?

These reasons on the primary reason I have decided I cannot recommend SmartThings to friends or relatives at this time. There is just still too much “jank” in the system. My personal opinion is that most of the issues are caused by their infrastructure being overloaded with queued commands, which really frightens me. If they are having issues keeping up with demand now…what will it be like when thousands more kits ship? Hopefully they can scale well.