Hub v1 offline alerts

(Jens Strauf) #1

Hello, last week power went out (my 1 year old shut down the UPS). I was in flight and didn’t get the notification of the hub being inactive. My wife (didn’t see the message when it came in) told me that she got called by a neighbor saying the garage door was open but no car was in there (and another neighbor called th cops …). When I looked at the notifications in Smartthings later, I found the hub inactive message and if I remember correctly also the one of my wife leaving the house (probably due to the Geo location being transmitted via LTE). Why would Smartthigs not send notifications knowing the hub is inactive, the last person left the house and the latest status of the garage was open? Am I missing something? I have searched for a while in the forum but couldn’t find anything. Thanks!!!

(Mark) #2

Once your hub is inactive, how can it alert you to anything?

(Jens Strauf) #3

I’m not an expert but I assume the notification comes right out of the cloud. That’s why you get a notification that e.g. the hub is inactive.

(Dan) #4

Do you rely on SmartThings to automatically close your garage door when someone leaves the house? Or are you saying that ST inadvertently opened your garage door?

Do you have a notification defined to tell you when a door is left open for too long? In Smart Home Monitor you can add a custom rule that will do just that. I have mine sent to notify me if a garage door is left open for 25 minutes, or a house door is open for 10 minutes. This works very well using the built in functionality of Smart Home Monitor. (Note: You do NOT have to use SHM for an alarm system for this to work.)

(Mark) #5

Yes, this is really question #1. ST won’t alert you to anything that you haven’t previously setup to receive a notification for, in SHM or another smartapp.

(Jens Strauf) #6