How to start siren when intrusion detected in "away" mode but not in "night" mode?

The Smart Home Monitor smartapp does not seem to have this functionality - it will start the siren regardless of the mode.

I assume this functionality can be achieved using CoRE, but I’m a complete newbie… Can someone give me guidance as to how to create a piston for this?

Forget CoRE, use webCoRE. go here for webCoRE help https://community.webcore.co

Here is something I did with SHM which might be helpful if you just don’t want the siren for accidental Armed Home Motion events.

I use contacts and motion sensors for armed away. but for armed stay I only use contact sensors. This way the siren only goes off in the middle of the night if a contact sensor is breached. I then have a custom SHM rule that monitors motions sensors and alerts me via text and a bright red hue in my bedroom if there is unexpected motion while in night mode. So, therefore no siren unless a contact is breached.

Thanks. I don’t have contacts - just motion sensors in the yard. I want to catch the robbers early…
I will wait for other answers.

In SHM. Select custom instead of security for setup and you can set whatever you want.

1 Like

yeah I would never hook a siren to outdoor motion. As Navat said, use custom.

Hi Dave,

SHM has a lot of limitations and like you, once I felt that I had enough protection inside my home, I started to look towards securing the outside of my home to hopefully catch things before there was a home intrusion and found that SHM was too restrictive.

Firstly, I made a distinction between outside events that were not intrusions and inside events that indicated an intrusion.

Secondly, I set up SHM to only include those items that indicated an intrusion, ( sensors and switches inside the house).