How to add routine 'button' to mobile screen

Hello,
I’m relatively new to SmartThings but am making good progress. I’ve used WebCoRE to create some rules and I definitely get the concepts involved.

My question - inside the default SmartThings app is a page that says ‘routines’, and by default there are a few buttons there like ‘good morning’, ‘good night’, etc. So let’s say I get my pistons up and running and all is well, how do I then add a new routine that I can click to run that particular piston? I’m not asking someone to explain the whole thing to me, just to point me in the right direction. I’ve had great luck so far finding lots of helpful examples on a variety of things, but so far no luck on this particular subject.

Thanks in advance…

I think this only works in reverse. You can create a routine and have a button or widget on the screen and execute that routine from a piston but… You can’t have a piston show up as a routine button on your screen.
I have created some common routines that I want on my screen and then call them from WC, best you can do at the moment.

ok, thanks for the great info…so maybe let me ask a different question. What I have in mind is, what is the best way for me to easily be able to turn on/off my security system at-will? I think where I’m struggling in my approach is that there is more than 1 way to skin a cat…In my case, I know how to set up alarms and door chimes, etc. But now I get up early and want to leave the house without disturbing my family. How do I disable the alarm as I leave and re-enable it once I’m away? My original thought had been, by adding simple routines I could click something that says like, turn everything off, then as soon as I’m gone, I press a button to turn it all back on.

Do I try to use the Samsung SHM to accomplish this task?