How Do I Add Additional Users To the App

I am new to the SmartThings setup and only recently added SmartThings to my home. Currently my smart phone is the only phone with the app installed. However I want to add the app to the other two phones in the home so that they can both control things as well as act as presence sensors. Not sure how to go about doing this.

On the iOS client, tap on the menu (The three vertical dots near the upper-right corner), “My Account”, “Manage Users”, “Add User”.

I imagine Android’s similar, but I don’t have a device to verify.

There may be issues doing this at the moment, however:

1 Like

Ahh thank you. Yeah I am getting the “This feature is coming soon”, message as well.

So I tried adding my wife to my account via “manage users” and sending her an invite. I went on her phone and downloaded the smartthings app and when i created an account with her email and logged in it asks me to select country or region and I pick USA. Then it asks me for the welcome code that came with my hub. I put that in and it just spins and spins. Also, it says the welcome code can only be used once at the bottom of the screen. Can someone please help

I am having the same issue. I must say as far as first impressions are concerned this product doesn’t look very good

2 Likes

I was able to find a work around to this for now. If they have a smartphone that can install the app, you can connect the phone as a device. Its under Coming and Going. It doesn’t allow a separate user but at least you can connect a phone for now.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

Do you know if this is a known issue they are working on? It sounds like others are experiencing this as well. I also sent an email to support

Looking to bump this and see if others are experiencing the same

My previous post about a work around didnt work. Since you have to be logged into the same account to use the app it just thinks both phones are the same.