SmartThings Community

Event log flooded with "devicetype:04...." messages after firmware upgrade

Ever since I got the firmware update this afternoon my hub’s event log have been flooded with hundreds of these messages:

@slagle : Request #182277

I will reboot (again) shortly…

same here 20 characters

same here 20 characters

I too have those on my log, but since stopped at 2:57pm MST. It was every 3-5 minutes.

I’m not an expert but searched on the www and this is what came up from Micro$oft’s site:

The device continues to resend these messages every 5 seconds until a control point that is listening on the network for this ssdp:alive message responds with the appropriate behavior. The contract between the control point and the device for the expected control point response behavior is outside the scope of this protocol. However, as an example, a device could listen on an agreed-upon TCP port, and when the control point connects to this TCP port (in response to having received a device ssdp:alive message) the device could assume it has been discovered and cease sending the SSDP messages.

I guess my hub has been discovered by the muth’a-ship.

If that’s the case, why so many different MAC addresses? Several do repeat, so I’m wondering if my hub is trying to discover devices on my network. The only LAN devices I have in ST is my Samsung camera, and my Echo.

I am no expert but I suspect based on the fact you can only have 253 Z Wave devices that they run in a form of a subnet (usually 254 addresses -1 for the router or hub in this case) I bet that is happening as it is resyncing with each z wave device.

I am not sure, but have those events stopped on your end?

Nope, been going on since 11:39am EST when I got the update.

Looks like something to do with UPNP.

Looks to be some sort of discovery service, the MAC addresses relate to devices in my network, SSDP is this so that would make sense: