Do I need a Lutron Smart Bridge to use their Pico switch with a nonLutron light?

A newbie here. I only have ordered SmartThings hub, and I have yet to order a few dozen things in the weeks to come, but I’d like to get started with light fixtures and wall switches.

For the light fixture, my choice is
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Hampton-Bay-12-in-White-LED-Smart-Puff-Light-54668161/206589824 (1000 lumens of White ambience 2700-5000k / dimmable)

and I’d like to get the Lutron Pico Remote with Wall Mount bracket.
https://www.amazon.com/Lutron-PJ2-3BRL-WH-L01R-Control-Favorite-Setting/dp/B00KLAXFQ0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1503916771&sr=8-1&keywords=PJ2-3BRL-WH-L01R

My question is…
The light fixture says it’s Wink compatible, and the switch says it requires Lutron Smart Bridge. My understanding is ST hub alone can handle light on/off, dimming, and scheduling all on its own without having to buy Wink and Lutron hubs. Am I right?

I’m not too familiar with that light. You’d have to check how it’s supposed to connect to wink; if it uses zigbee or z-wave it might work with ST (although not necessarily out of the box, a custom device handler may be necessary).

But lutron caseta devices will not work with ST unless you have a lutron smart bridge. The integration btw lutron and ST relies on cloud-to-cloud communication.

Thanks Mark,

I was told the fixture will work with “Zigbee RGBW bulb” setting.
Any recommendation for the switch? I wanted more than a single ‘on and off’ button so that I could control the brightness and the colour temperature.

You want a switch that’s battery powered like the pico?

Battery powered is desirable, but I could live with one fixed to the wall. :slight_smile:

As Mark said, in order to use Lutron Caseta devices with SmartThings , You need to use the Lutron smartbridge.