Current state of blink integration? (March 2018)

Hi all,
I’m just getting started with ST.
I see all the hoopla from back in December about blink breaking the link to smartthings.
Is this still the case? I want to use those cameras but not if they 2ont work, or if there is a chance they do work but may be broken in the futre.
What’s the current word?

Thanks

Personally, I think my blink cameras work fine even without the ST integration. Was it a little better before the integration was blocked? Sure. But you can still get a limited degree of integration between the two with IFTTT.

I wouldn’t bet on a direct integration between the two ever coming back.

2 Likes

Essentially, the camera portion will not work with SmartThings. Using IFTTT and some custom device handlers, you can arm/disarm and cause the motion detection to create a SmartThings event (which can then cause other actions to occur). You then use the Blink App to view the video.

If you already own Blink - this is a good compromise. If you do not own blink and video integration with SmartThings is essential, then you will have to look elsewhere.

Dave

Thanks a bunch Dave.
So, no that won’t work for me. I’m going to deploy STT in my own home and then do a couple of relatives that are techie ally challanged.
So what are the options that is easy to use?
Is my only option arlo, and needing to replace the batteries every couple of months?
Do the arlo even work well and without hiccups?
Is there a better option?

Thanks again

1 Like

What is it you want to do with your cameras and SmartThings?

Basic stuff like live feeds so I can check in on people or pets. Thats all.
Id like to view it through ST app though instead of opening another app.
Trying to make it simple as possible.

SmartThings isn’t that great for that particular use.

But if you want to try to keep it simple, might as well use a camera that’s on the official works with SmartThings list.