Arlo AND Blink?

Hi,

I currently have 3 Arlo cameras which work perfectly with the Smartthings system so far.

They’re all outside apart from one which is hidden in the living room and switches off automatically when my girlfriend or i get home

I’m looking at getting a couple of blink cameras as they would match the interior of my house better then the Arlos.

Has anyone had any experience with both Arlo and Blink on their system?
I’m a complete noob at any kind of programming. So i don’t want to go into the programming if it isn’t worth it.

Any help is appreciated

Hi @Unknownpanic,

I would recommand Blink over Arlo as it does have a better look for the inside of the house and has multiple options for power. It is descreate and works well at my house. I have it setup up all over and most people don’t pay it any attantion as it looks just like any motion sensor. I also use my regular interior Blink cammera under an overhang on my deck. It works great.

I tried Arlo before and was not happy with their form factor and how they looked in my house.
The price points are in my opinion negligeble.

Discreet for Blink… the blue lights flashing on the Blink are not discreet. I haven’t had any experience with Arlo though.

That blue light had my entire family paranoid as if they were constantly being recorded! I ended up taking apart and putting a little piece of black tape over the led. I use them as motion detectors when the lights are on so they blink every minute if motion is detected.

I do love them! Have 3 hard wired and 2 that the batteries are still at 90% after 6 months of use. Blinks are great! My sister has 2 Arlos and she loves them as well!

As far as integration, you will need a 3rd party DTH. RBoy makes an awesome DTH but you have to pay for it. I think that’s the only one the Blink allows for integration into ST and they almost pulled the plug earlier this year.

There shouldn’t be any issues as they are just seen as any other device/SmartApp.