Connection Issues

I am new to setting up smart devices in my home. I do have a computer background but I am trying to over come a few issues. I am looking to solve a problem that I am having with some smart devices before I sink more money to automate my home.
I have a smartthings hub Generation 2.
I have one light switch that is in my shop which is detached from the house. I would say total distance from hub to switch is 30 feet max. However the signal is going through a framed, insulated, brick exterior wall and having to connect with the switch that is in a concrete block building with brick on the exterior. Switch is in a metal industrial box.
I am trying to determine if I am losing that much signal between the two devices that it continually shows not connected.
What are my options?
Do I need to add a second hub in my shop to control these devices? I am trying to determine the best course before I spend a hundred bucks on one switch to control my compressor. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Brick and concrete wall is a potential issue. Can you add a repeater device (mains powered outlet) in between the two? An even a simple mains powered outlet (see this post for examples) would help.

If there’s no response at all, then it could be one of 3 things:

1. The pairing didn’t happen properly (excluding and repairing should solve that)
  2. The switch has lost the connection, simply cycling the mains to the switch should fix that
  3. The Mesh is too weak, you need a repeater.
2 Likes

RBoy I have an interesting situation. I have installed a second light switch which I would hope would work as a repeater. This switch works find and talks directly to the hub. When I went into my smartthings account on my PC I looked at the switch I am having issues with and I noticed the following rout of communication.

I only have the 2 switches and the hub in the house. Is it possible this is trying to speak to my alexa or echo dot?