Capability presentation not exist for capability tV and samsungTV

Hi everyone, Im new in this platform. I just managed to connect one off my IoT device (in this case Smart Outplug) from my cloud to SmartThings using schema. Now, i tried to connect my other device which is an IR blaster device, it could control multiple devices like TV, Aircon, Speaker, Projector ect. My plan is to integrate each of the device using available capabilities one by one.

First i tried to create TV remote device using tv or samsungTV capabilities. I already get the device icon shown on the SmartThings app. But, i cannot get into the detailed view.

I checked from my cloud log and the SmartThings schema API doesnt give any interaction error report, in other word i succesfully send the required respond status.

Using Postman i tried to check the capability presentation through this API,
https://api.smartthings.com/v1/capabilities/tV/1/presentation
https://api.smartthings.com/v1/capabilities/samsungTV/1/presentation
But both give me this response message:

Somebody knows how to fix this?

Welcome to the SmartThings Community, @Eduardus_Antoni!
Some capabilities don’t have a presentation, that defines how they will be displayed in the app.
What you can do is:

• First, verify which of the capabilities you want to use actually have a presentation as you did here:
  • Then, if they don’t, you can create a custom capability using the same definition (of the stock capability) and create its presentation accordingly.
    Get the capability definition at https://api.smartthings.com/v1/capabilities/tV/1

Note: Just take into consideration that multiple attributes are not supported for custom capabilities, so some might have to be broken into different parts

Let me know if you have any doubts about the display types.

Maybe, this process would be faster if you set up the SmartThings CLI where you can use the terminal to make requests to the ST API.

1 Like